2012 Distance Targets

At the moment i’m looking at my mileage mainly…

I’m shooting for 5,000km in the year – a bit of a step up from this year, and obviously subject to avoiding injury etc. Targets on a month by month basis as follows…

Jan 300km
Feb 350km
Mar 350km
Apr 500km
May 500km
Jun 500km
Jul 500km
Aug 500km
Sep 500km
Oct 350km
Nov 350km
Dec 300km

which, if I’ve got my maths right should come in at 5,000km. Not a massive amount by some peoples standards I admit, but it’s a 20% step up from my targets this year, and I’ve failed to achieve them for the first 8 months of they year (admittedly due to injury and illnesses) so I think any more might be a little optimistic.

My other goals are

1 – to continue losing weight at a sustainable level, working towards the weight target goalsĀ  i.e.

Mini Goals:
Start Weight – 397.7lb – 23rd July 2011
Mini Goal 1 – 350lb – Achieved 27th September 2011
Mini Goal 2 – 315lb – under way
Mini Goal 3 – 280lb – hey, 20 Stone is a landmark to me
Mini Goal 4 – 240lb – recommended max weight for Campag. – Buy a DeRosa c/w Record 11
Goal weight – 210lb – back to my fighting weight.

2 – to try and organise a local version of the “Dunwich Dynamo” – This should be a night ride from our local pub, setting off at midnight, and riding to the coast, hopefully getting there just in time for the sunrise on the shortest Saturday night/Sunday morning in summer… so around 75 miles in around 5 hours. I’ve a couple of mates who like the idea, but need someone to do the organising – if it happens, I think that it’ll be because I did the grunt-work.

3 – just to generally ride longer and further – increasing the time and distance of the rides – if I’m increasing the mileage, I know i’m going to have to get better recovery time as well. This year my mileage and ride time has been “capped” on doctors orders, which means I’ve been riding 6 days a week to get my “fix” and running around like a madman on the 7th day, to get all the regular errands etc. run. If I can ride 4 days a week, for twice as far, I can have a “mad errand day” and 2 days of recovery…

So, that’s it for the moment, though I may dream something else up as well

Leave a Reply

