Out to Snaith and a Quick Burn Home…

Finally plucked up the courage to go and do a decent duration ride after my Knee Injury last year – something other than variations on my “local loop”. Decided I fancied a ride somewhere a little flatter than my typical stuff, so headed out in a Easterly direction, towards the flatter areas around Snaith and Selby. Once you get the first 7-8 miles out of the way, it’s actually a really nice flattish ride, where you can concentrate on just spinning a nice gear and getting the base mileage in – just the thing for this time of year – and indeed, when I was younger / keener / racier / thinner / all of the previous, this “lollypop” shaped ride was one of my favoured base mileage runs – though I’ll admit, I would probably have put in 3 or four laps of the loop before heading back home in those days.

A quick tracklog of the ride is here as recorded on the Garmin 705 – and what the log doesn’t tell you was that it was a very pleasant day – totally unlike the rest of this month so far, finally the wind dropped to maybe 8-10 mph (as a headwind on the last 1/3 or so of the ride) instead of the 40+ it’s been since 2011. Was just warm enough to not be unpleasant – needed the full winter kit, and arrived home with a cold nose, but warm everything else, which is great in my book…

Even managed a quick snap of the bike when I stopped to retrieve a energy bar from my base layer shirt pocket (it was a SIS Go Bar – and unless you get ’em warm somehow, they’re barely chewable.)

Excuse the crappy smartphone photo quality – but I’m not about to carry my EOS 7D and 24-105L around, just for a snap of the bike mid-ride…

All things considered it was a great afternoon out riding, and has certainly made me feel a little more confident in getting out and riding a little longer distances.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

